Marriage

I’m familiar, yet unfamiliar with the topic.

I don’t know where to start.

But I will start with this. I love my boyfriend. I can’t imagine what my life would’ve been like the past four years without his love, comfort, and constant support & I wouldn’t dare to imagine my life without him in my future.

Many of my friends are getting married, and I’m happy that they’ve made their own decision to take their relationship “to the next level,” as so everyone puts it. However, when the spotlight is on me and I’m asked when I am going to get married… well honestly I’m in no rush.

For many reasons that don’t question my love for him.

Reasons: I’m still in school, I don’t have a stable job, I live with my parents, I have yet to live on my own as an independent woman. 

I’m still in school trying to get my second degree in a program that requires me to spend my mornings, days, and nights at school. I have trouble balancing school and having a part time “real” job. I barely get to see him. My mom and dad have been supporting me through school & life. 

For me, there’s just many things I want to accomplish for myself before committing to another. I want to make sure I can take care of myself before I become someone who depends on their husband to survive. Like one of those… “trapped” marriages. If I am going to depend on my husband, I want it to be my choice rather than a default. I want to make my own money, I don’t want to be dependent. 

I want to be able to take care of him as much as I know he will take care of me.

I want to become the woman I want to be for myself, because I know that when I DO become that woman… it’ll be what my man deserves, and I finally can give him my all

 

That’s why I’m in no rush. 

 

But hey, life happens.

🙂

Marriage